Better Late Than Never

Ok, I made a promise to myself that I *would* write in this blog- and I will. Balancing my new life in Boston, plus getting used to grad school, plus learning how to cook (more on that later) have taken over for a bit, but I am back!

I think the best way to describe the beginning of grad school is by giving a great, big sigh of relief. The 20 of us arrived to our first class (Drama as Education) with collective butterflies and nerves. How much work was this going to be? Are we ready to tackle 10 to 20 article readings a week, and tons of project and papers a night??? Should we get used to the fact that we will no longer have time to make friends, or eat dinner, or sleep??!?!

Enter my professor- a jolly man of about 60 years old. A man who was excited to be there, and above all- a man who loved his job. The first thing that stuck out to me was the way he addressed the class. He didn’t treat us like babies, or ignorant first year grads that don’t know as much as him. He treated us like equals and fellow colleagues. Like we were all there to learn something, all parts of a symbiotic relationship, giving and taking from each other in order to learn in a more complete manner. I thought to myself “this is a person I can learn from”. And, I think, so did my classmates.

The class is titled “Drama as Education”, the big question being “how can teachers use drama as education?” and also “how to teachers learn how to teach it?” As theater teachers…we play games. Lots of games. Games that teach focus, build energy, create teams, laughter and most importantly, a sense of community in the classroom. So how do we learn how to teach games? We, ourselves play games. Lots of games.

I’m sure that you’re thinking the same thing that most people I tell this to are thinking: “So, you pay buckets of money for grad school to play games?”. Yes and no. The best part about class is discussing why the games work, and for what ages. Scratch that….the best part about class is the fact that I love what I’m learning. I love the content, and I’m 100% engaged in every moment of class. For the first time in a long time, I love what I’m learning. And for the first time in a long time, I feel like I’m really and truly *good* at something.

That’s enough gushing over grad school like a nerd. Night, all!

One thought on “Better Late Than Never

  1. This post reminds me of a post I wrote while I was in Italy. I completely understand your thoughts and feelings. It is true that you must love what you are doing in order to enjoy and learn something from it. Keep blogging!

Leave a Reply

