Fall In New England

I'm climbin' in yo' orchards, snatchin' yo' apples up.

Fall is, without a doubt, my favorite season. Even though it means that winter is right around the corner (my LEAST favorite season), I just love fall-related things too much to let it get me down. Last year, which was my first year in Boston, we all went apple picking at Smolak Farms in North Andover, MA, and it was so lovely that I had to do it again this year. Despite the misty, foggy, humid weather, we managed to grab a crap ton of apples, and even enjoy some cider and cider donuts. After closing the trip with the annual lunch at Bertucci’s, I drove home and reflected on the day. I realized how much I miss my friends who I never see anymore, and how comfortable I feel when I’m around them. I’m also really grateful for the new ones I’ve made this year. Too bad this is my last year at school! But I do have a feeling that these are the kinds of people I will stay in touch with for a long time.

Baby deer at Smolak Farms!

Carmen Sandiego

Little Red.

Elissa and I!

Another thing I love about fall- food. Which means I’m about to post a recipe. YUP

JIM’S APPLE PIE (aka: Schubipie)

On our second date, my boyfriend and I made dinner and dessert at his apartment. I made chicken cacciatore, and he made this absolutely incredible and impressive apple pie. I remember being ridiculously impressed by him, and I’m fairly certain he made this pie just to get me to like him. Anyway, it worked, we’re still together, and last night I attempted his recipe with the apples I had just picked one day prior! I used a 9 inch metal pie pan for this recipe:

Here’s what you need for the crust:
– 2 cups of flour

– 1 tsp salt

– 2/3 cups shortening

– 4 tbsp cold water

Here’s how you do the crust:
       – Mix together the flour and salt

– “Cut in” the shortening, which means taking two knives and slicing the shortening until your mixture looks like coarse cornmeal (if you have a stand mixer, you can just throw it in and put it on the lowest setting)

–  Once those are mixed, sprinkle with 4 tablespoons of cold water, gather the dough into a ball, and divide it in half

– Take one half of the dough, sprinkle your surface with a LITTLE bit of flour, and roll the dough out  so it will fill your 9 inch pie pan and hang over the sides.

But wait….what about the other half of the dough?

– Roll that guy out, brush it with melted butter, throw some cinnamon and sugar on it, and bake it. You can eat that as a snack while your pie cooks.

Here’s what you need for the pie filling, and the french crumble topping
– ¾ cup sugar

–  ¼ cup all purpose flour

– ½ tsp. ground nutmeg

– ½ tsp. ground cinnamon

– 6 cups thinly sliced pared tart apples (about 6 medium sized ones)

Annd here’s how you do the filling: 

– Heat oven to 425 degrees

– Mix sugar, flour, nutmeg and cinnamon

– Stir the apple slices in the dry mixture, making sure they’re all coated. I sliced mine relatively thin so they cooked more.

– Place coated slices into pastry lined pie pan.  Cover with crumb topping (see CRUMB TOPPING at the bottom)

– Bake 40 minutes, cover with aluminum foil last 10 minutes of baking to keep topping from burning.

CRUMB TOPPING

       – Mix 1 cup all purpose flour, ½ cup firm butter and ½ cup brown sugar until crumbly

If it all goes well, it should look like this!

Side view

 

One thought on “Fall In New England

  1. That is how my wife snagged me, making a great apple pie. That was almost 40 years ago. I see it still works. It’s a tried and true method no matter what anybody says. Pie looks great!!!!

Leave a Reply

